Batanes is the first main island group in the northern tip of Luzon, located between the Babuyan Islands and Taiwan. The three largest islands are Itbayat, Batan, and Sabtang. Basco, on Batan Island, is the capital. Almost half of the terrain in Batanes is composed of hills and mountains. The smallest province of the Philippines, it also has the smallest population.

In the summer months of March to May, the surrounding seas are calm. The climate is generally cool, with September to November usually windy. Typhoon season is in August.

Back to Main Map Previous Next